Füssen · Germany · Hohenschwangau Castle · Neuschwanstein Castle

A Princess Kind of Day

Our last trip to Füssen was a disaster. There is honestly no way to sugar coat it. It was a complete failure. Thankfully history was not doomed to repeat itself this past weekend.

We did take a gamble and follow the same route we originally took. With the option being an hour and a half saved in driving time we decided to risk it for the biscuit. All morning Saturday, we choose to live by that phrase.

The drive was extremely pleasant. Though we had better weather after Christmas, I have come to love the low hanging clouds and snow dusted grounds when we view castles. It adds an air of romance and in this case enhances the mystery of King Ludwig II’s final days.

So sit back and prepare yourselves for all the pictures.

IMG_0546.JPG

IMG_0547.JPG

IMG_0557

IMG_0563.JPG

The adorable souvenir shops (we arrived too early to do some pre castle shopping)

IMG_0572.JPG

IMG_0583.JPG

IMG_0584.JPG

IMG_0593.JPG

IMG_0596.JPG

IMG_0598.JPG

IMG_0609.JPG

I got overly excited seeing the crest above the door. Slytherin Chambers anyone? Then I realized it was a swan…

IMG_0612.JPG

One of my favorite photos from the whole day.

IMG_0615.JPG

I’m obsessed.

IMG_0616.JPG

Had I known, you could rent canoes and paddle the lake I probably would have waited for warmer weather. No matter just means a second trip for us.

IMG_0617.JPG

IMG_0620.JPG

IMG_0625.JPG

IMG_0630.JPG

IMG_0649.JPG

See? Obsessed with getting photos of this castle.

IMG_0650.JPG

IMG_0657.JPG

IMG_0666.JPG

Finally making the journey up to Neuschwanstein.

IMG_0669.JPG

IMG_0673.JPG

IMG_0691.JPG

IMG_0695.JPG

This ledge made me so nervous. I am sure it is made with the best glass money can buy, but come on what’s with the slated flooring!!! James here wanted to freak me out even more by getting right up on the edge. Needless to say I was pretty wobbly in the knees.

IMG_0698.JPG

IMG_0702.JPG

You can’t see it, but I’m gripping that railing with everything I have in me.

IMG_0704.JPG

IMG_0720.JPG

IMG_0726.JPG

IMG_0731.JPG

IMG_0739.JPG

IMG_0745.JPG

IMG_0749.JPG

IMG_0760.JPG

IMG_0763.JPG

IMG_0764.JPG

IMG_0768.JPG

IMG_0775.JPG

This was a very magical way to spend my birthday this year. Our trip went a thousand times smoother than before and it was such an enjoyable experience. Definitely a princess worthy kind of day.

I hope y’all enjoyed all these photos and have a wonderful day. Be sure to check back for our tips on visiting Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau. Until then check out Solitude Palace here in Stuttgart.

Melanie

Travel Tuesdays
7 thoughts on “A Princess Kind of Day

  1. it looks like you had a lovely time, I wend during summer so didn’t get to see any snow, but it looks wonderful! Were you not cold wearing a dress/skirt? I think i’d be!

    Like

    1. I want to go back to see it in the spring or summer. It has to be about a thousand times more beautiful. You know, I got asked that a lot actually when we were there lol. I really wasn’t. The dress is a heavier all weather material and the boots and coat kept me so warm. I barely noticed the cold the whole time.

      Like

  2. I did not know about the canoes! I’m taking my friends at the end of April…maybe we can rent one then? I hope so! I also did not go to Hohenzollern, so that will be included next time as well. Love all of your photos, take as many castle pics as you want! Thanks for linking up with Travel Tuesday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

