Our Everyday

Birthday Fun

This has been one of the best birthdays I have had. One that will be remembered for a long time to come. Saturday was absolutely fantastic, though I’m pretty sure the morning wake up call took a year or two off my life.

First Friday evening I started my blog make over, hope y’all like it. I am totally in love with the soft shades of pink and the new set up. Only took three hours of being on the fence to decide to go for it. I couldn’t be happier with it’s new look. Now to just update the last few things this week.

Saturday was an early morning start (5 AM wake up) to head for Füssen. To start my birthday, James picked up Parker and jumped on the bed yelling “Happy birthday!” Once I was sure my heart wouldn’t stop we got ready and headed to the most magical place in Germany. Here is a sneak peak, the rest will come Tuesday.

IMG_0772

IMG_0661.JPG

IMG_0669.JPG

IMG_0706.JPG

Snow dusted areas and low hanging clouds made for a magical experience at the most iconic German sight.

Later in the day it was time for cake and presents. So I had no idea James could bake at all. He’s always saying his cooking skills extend to turning the oven on and opening the pizza slab. He was on a mission though that I not bake my own cake. Ok so knowing my husband doesn’t cook that often, I was a bit scared about the cake. Ok a lot scared. Turns out he may not be able to cook, but the man can bake up a storm. This cake was so moist and delicious. I was in heaven.

The cat was let out of the bag on the present front (Sound of Music tour and tulip fields here I come), but my sweet, sweet puppy got me the most adorable birthday card ever. Yes we are totally those people that give cards and gifts from the dog, don’t judge.

IMG_0783.JPG

IMG_0784.JPG

IMG_0788.JPG

In other news twenty-four is officially when you cannot have single candles on your cake without a potential fire. Half way through lighting them they all started to catch fire. YIKES!!!

IMG_0789

IMG_0791.JPG

IMG_0796.JPG

Best surprise of all in the cake!!! It was PINK!!! We all enjoyed it, even Parker got a bit and she devoured it, and let me tell you this dog is a bit picky so we know it was good.

To finish off the weekend we went a short jaunt up the road to the Solitude Palace of Stuttgart, and it was just beautiful. I will post all about this royal retreat tomorrow. And again a little sneak peak till tomorrow.

IMG_0821.JPG

IMG_0832.JPG

IMG_0890.JPG

It has been a fantastic birthday and weekend. Now off to close the night out with a little Disney, fun with Cinderella (2015).

Hope everyone had a good weekend. Be sure to come back tomorrow for Solitude Palace and Tuesday for Neuschwanstein.

Melanie

One thought on “Birthday Fun

Leave a Reply

