Our Everyday

Cheers to 2016!!!

Happy New year 2016

Welcome to 2016, everyone!!!

This month I will be kicking of my reading challenge of 52 books in 52 weeks.

Since I made the 2016 commitment to post more regularly I decided to create a reading challenge so people can join along if they would like. Since I read a little more frequently than the average bear, I made the blog portion of my challenge for only 26 books.

2016 Reading Challenge

This month I will be doing:

My favorite book from 2015

A book I own but have yet to read

A book off of the New York Times Best Seller List

To stay on my overall track, I will begin a new book every Sunday.

To kick off my challenge I selected The Return, by Jennifer L. Armentrout. I first heard about this book on her website, just after James left for boot camp last year. Reading the synopses on it I was instantly drawn in and had to get a copy reserved for release day at Barnes and Noble. The only catch? It is a spin off from her previous series Covenant. Six books and a prequel? Seems really daunting at first, but you get sucked in from page one. I was obsessed with the series I read it all in a week. I fell in love with Seth’s character and was so happy the new series would be about him. After all he did, he deserves a happy ending too.

All that work last year to be caught up for The Return, and now I have picked it to be my 2015 re-read, because it was so amazing AND the second book comes out this February!!! Insert crazy fangirl screaming here.

51paxCWXChL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_

I hope some of y’all will join along for the book ride this year. Look for the review on January 10th and what book I will be starting next.

Another challenge going on this year is our 2016 Movie Challenge. James and I created this together. We have the same list but we will not always be watching the same movies. It is again a bi-weekly thing we will be doing. This fun challenge will start on the 10th. Please help me out with movie titles because I am very much stuck in my select few genres and will need help branching out. The goal is to get through all the categories with movies you have never seen before.

Movie Challenge.jpg

We selected the first two categories for this month:

A movie that came out in 2015

A comedy

To start the month out we will both be watching The Man from U.N.C.L.E. We both really wanted to see this when it came out but of course never got around to it.

Of course my monthly post would not be complete without mentioning my favorite new hobby: TRAVELING!!!

Residenzschloss_Ludwigsburg.jpg

Ludwigsburg

rothenburg-ob-der-tauber-f0.jpg

Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Neuschwanstein_Castle_LOC_print_rotated.jpg

Füssen take two

marienplatz-munich.jpg

Munich

Compared to last month a pretty light load, but three major sights in Germany.

Here’s to jump starting the New Year and a fantastic January!!!

~Melanie

2 thoughts on “Cheers to 2016!!!

  1. Movies – not sure it could be considered a “classic” romance, but Bridges of Madison County is a suggestion. Also fits category of book made into a movie. Book made into movie, but also real life story: Apollo 13. Real life stories: Blind Side, 8 Mile, Beautiful Mind, American Gangster. I may watch, re-watch some of these movies myself 🙂

    Your pictures look like postcards. I especially love the one of the castle.

    Like

Leave a Reply

