Dinner · Our Everyday

Our First Anniversary

Yesterday we celebrated our first anniversary together.

It went by so fast. I don’t know how it is for other couples, but since we were apart so much this past year it seemed to just fly by.

We started our day out with gifts and cards.

DSC00449.JPG

James got me a very beautiful, pink leather, journal for all the random thoughts that come into my head during the day. I always find myself wishing I had something to write on while I’m running errands. Wanting to make a note and turning up empty. It’s a really nice addition to the one I received as a birthday present from my mom back in March. That one can now go back to being for journal keeping alone.

DSC00466.JPG

I had the hardest time coming up with a paper gift for James. He isn’t one for writing in journals, unlike me he will remember things he puts in his phone, and even while in boot camp he wasn’t one much for stationary, preferring lined paper to anything else. In the eleventh hour it finally hit me what I could get him. Nothing like waiting till the last minute on my part. The morning of and I’m still working on his. Yikes!!!

I remembered him mentioning wanting a bowling ball, months and months back. He isn’t the type to buy anything for himself, ever, so I created a little gift certificate for his bowling ball. Sadly, while were out the pro shop was closed, so he doesn’t actually have his yet.

DSC00461.jpg

Here are a few of the less blurry photos from our date:

The loosing score… That’s mine. I did pretty good (by my standards) the first game but over all it wasn’t pretty.

Later we did a little shopping at the market set up and found got a few people crossed off our Christmas list.

Finally what was probably James’ favorite part of the day/night: dinner.

When we got married I made a pork loin, that he LOVES. I had wanted something we could have every year and remember the day we were married. I hunted several recipes out and made adjustments to them and when I showed them to James to pick, all he said was, “What about your pork loin though?” By far this is his favorite meal that I make, so I had to make it. I’m going to let the secret of my “famous” pork loin out of the bag tonight though. You’ll love it I promise.

IMG_6753.JPG

Red Wine Gravy Pork Loin

Ingredients

1 pound pork tenderloin

1 white onion sliced

4 stalks of celery

Garlic powder

Salt

Pepper

4 cups of red wine

2 packets of brown gravy mix

Directions

Coat both sides of the tenderloin with the garlic powder, salt, and pepper

Place the tenderloin into a baking dish

Add in the cut onion (we do ours in circular cuts) and cut celery stalks

Salt, pepper, and garlic the vegetables

Pour the wine over everything

Add in the gravy packets (be sure to coat the tenderloin with the gravy mix as well)

Cover with foil and refrigerate for 1 hour (minimum)

After an hour stir the wine and gravy, and flip the tenderloin and refrigerate for one more hour (minimum)

Remove from the fridge, uncover, and stir once more

Heat your oven to 425 degrees

Bake for 25 – 30 minutes

Once cooked remove the tenderloin and allow it to rest before slicing

Stir the sauce and pour over tenderloin

Great with mashed potatoes or rice, and green beans

That was how we spent our celebration of year one. Low key but perfect for us. Here’s to sixty plus more just like it.

3 thoughts on “Our First Anniversary

  1. Hi Melanie!!

    Congratulations on your anniversary! Marriage is such a beautiful thing! What at creative idea for the gift certificate to represent the paper. I wanted to thank you for stopping by my blog and checking it out! Hope I will see you around!

    Jenna

    Like

Leave a Reply

